The Civil Services Academy (CSA) was established in 1948 for training of the fresh entrants to the Pakistan Administrative Service (PAS) and was originally named “The Pakistan Administrative Service Academy”. Since then, it has undergone many changes in organizational structure and location. With the adoption of the Civil Service of Pakistan (CSA) Resolution, the Academy was renamed “The Civil Services Academy” and was shifted from a building on the Race Course Road (the present Circuit House) to the old Residency Estate on the Shahrah-e-Quaid-i-Azam. In addition to CSP probationers, it started imparting training to Pakistan Foreign Service (PFS) probationers in 1963. In 1972, after the creation of Bangladesh and the consequent loss of the Police Academy, the training of new entrants to the Police Service of Pakistan (PSP) was also entrusted to the Academy. Probationers belonging to the Information Service of Pakistan (ISP) started coming to the Academy in the same year.Earlier, the Government setup “The Finance Services Academy” (FSA) in mid-1950s to train the officers belonging to various Finance Services. This was located at Walton, which was then a sparsely populated suburb of Lahore. Probationers belonging to Pakistan Audit & Accounts Service (PA&AS), Pakistan Railways Accounts Service (PRAS), Pakistan Military Accounts Service (PMAS), Pakistan Taxation Service (PTS) and Pakistan Customs and Excise Service (PC&ES) were trained at this Academy.Probationers of the Central Secretariat Service (CSS) were imparted training at the Secretariat Training Institute, Karachi, while those belonging to other services and posts received on on-the-job training.After the Administrative Reforms of 1973, it was decided to organize a Common Training Programme (CTP for all fresh entrants to various Central Superior Services (renamed as Occupational Groups). The Civil Services Academy and the Finance Services Academy were merged for this purpose. The merged institution was renamed “The Academy for Administrative Training” (AAT). This name was changed to Civil Services by the then President of Pakistan in November, 1981.To begin with, the Academy was subordinate office / Attached Department of the Establishment Division. It was later granted the status of an Autonomous Body with its own Board of Governors. Subsequently, it was made a constituent unit of National School of Public Policy (NSPP) in October, 2005. Recently vide Ordinance No.1 of 2017, the status of Civil Services Academy is Independent and is no longer the constituent unit of National School of Public Policy.Presently, the Academy has two campuses, one campus at Walton, which is used exclusively for the Common Training Programme (CTP. The other campus, which located on Shahrah-e-Quaid-i-Azam, is used for the Specialized Training Programme (STP) of the Pakistan Administrative Service probationers. The Academy is headed by the Director with offices at both campuses.The CTP Wing, headed by Director (CTP) at Walton Campus, supervises all aspects of the Common Training Programme, including the academic, training and sports component. Chief Instructors, Additional Directors, Deputy Directors and other staff assist Director (CTP) in implementation of training activities. Academic Group In-charges are responsible for supervising and mentoring the probationers of assigned Academic Group, which is also called a ‘House’. There are five Houses for 46th CTP i.e. Jinnah House, Iqbal House, Liaquat House, Sir Syed House and Jauhar house. These houses are increased and reduced according to the number of Probationary Officers who join the Civil Services Academy to undergo Common Training Program.